Family-Friendly Events (in August)

August already! The summer holidays are well and truly here, and there’s plenty around here to do for people with kids. Details can change so please check ahead before setting out – and we hope you have fun!

Daily 1 – 31 August, 2 – 3.pm
Open Studio: (1 – 14: Pompoms, 15 – 31: Felt)
Learning and creative session inspired by WW2 artefacts. Imperial War Museum North

Wednesday 3 & Thursday 4 August
Bakewell Show, Bakewell, Derbyshire
Entertainment, food & attractions and kids zone. Under 16s go free when tickets booked in advance.

Monday 8 – Wednesday 10 August, 12–4pm
Victorian Week, National Trust Dunham Massey
See website for details of what’s on each day. Woodhouse Lane, Altrincham

Various dates in August
Fun and creative activities for kids. Lion Salt Works, Ollershaw Lane, Marston, Northwich

Wed 10 August – Sunday 4 Sept, 11am & 2pm
The Gruffalo’s Child
The Lowry, Salford Quays

Mon 8 Aug (Tegg’s Nose Country Park) & Tue 9 Aug (Brereton Heath Nature Reserve) 10am – 12pm
The Big Bug Hunt. Action-packed invertebrate investigation. Wear wellies & prepare to have fun. Book in advance. Ages 5-10. Cheshire East Council Countryside Ranger Service

Wed 10 Aug (Tegg’s Nose Country Park) & Thu 11 Aug (Brereton Heath Nature Reserve) 10am – 12pm
Minibeast Mission – Your mission: to track down the “most wanted” beasts! Use minibeast mugshots & a variety of tracking techniques to complete your mission. Book in advance. Ages 5-10. Cheshire East Council Countryside Ranger Service

Thursday 11 – Friday 12 August
Junkyard Robots
Design and build an alien or robot from junk! Booking essential. Silk Museum, Macclesfield

Sunday 14 August, 12pm
Fun Dog Show at the Farm, Tatton Park, Knutsford
10 novelty classes including waggiest tale & saddest eyes

Monday 15 – Tuesday 16 August
Forest Explorers at Delamere Forest, Northwich
Mon:
Den Building & Mini-beasts, Tue: Teddy Bears Picnic. Ages, prices and times vary so please call 07808 506308 or check the website for details
ALSO: FAMILY FUN DAYS on 2nd & 31st AUGUST

Tuesday 16th August, 7–9.30pm
Down the Mines! Suitable for ages 6+
Alderley Edge’s old copper mines with the Derbyshire Caving Club. Helmets & lamps provided. Some ladder climbing & crawling. Booking essential. Cheshire East Council Countryside Ranger Service. Alderley Edge Car Park

 Mon 15, Wed 17 & Thu 18 August, 12–4pm
Adventure Week, National Trust Dunham Massey
See website for details of what’s on each day. Woodhouse Lane, Altrincham

Friday 19th August, 10–11.30am
Happy International Orangutan Day
Zoo Ranger team will be talking all things orang! Normal zoo admission price applies. Chester Zoo

Saturday 20th August, 10am – 3pm
Wild Food with James Wood
A wild food walk, discovering edible delights as you go. Bring an empty jar to take some wild foods home with you. Cheshire East Council Countryside Ranger Service – Tegg’s Nose Country Park

Saturday 20 August, 12pm, 1.30pm & 3pm
The Mad Hatter’s Tea Party
Experience Lewis Carroll’s famous tea party. Join Alice in Wonderland, the Cheshire Cat & friends. Book in advance (01606) 275040. Lion Salt Works, Northwich

Monday 22 – Friday 26 August
Forest Explorers, Delamere Forest, Northwich
Mon:
Forest Fairies, Tue: Den Building, Wed: Little Explorers, Thu: Whittling Workshop, Fri: Survival. Ages, prices and times vary so please check the website or call 07808 506308 for more information.

Mon 22 – Thu 25 August, 12–4pm
Wild Week, National Trust Dunham Massey
See website for what’s on each day. Altrincham

Saturday 27 August
Poynton Show
Horticultual & Agricultural event & family fun

Saturday 27 August, 6.30pm
Ratburger – Theatrical premiere
Booking essential. Dunham Massey, Altrincham

Monday 29 August, 2pm (gates open 1pm)
Dotty the Dragon – Outdoor Theatre Show
Hunting Lodge, Adlington Hall, Macclesfield

Wed 31 August – Sunday 4 Sept, 2pm & 7pm
Gangsta Granny – Live on stage
It’s Friday night and Ben knows that means only one thing – staying with Granny! The Lowry, Salford Quays

 Friday 2 – Sunday 4 September
Chatsworth Country Fair, Derbyshire
Huge countryside festivities, Chatsworth House